Rick Wayne



One part mystery.

One part savagery.

Three parts magic.

Five strangers, suffering loss, each have an inexplicable encounter with a reclusive eccentric, known to polite society only as an outlandish chef. Desperate to recover a most unusual book, he draws them by turn into a hidden world of hex gangs, paranormal heists, and spectral assassins, where secret sects fight over the remains of a fallen order and the greatest illusion is that magic isn’t real.

FEAST OF SHADOWS is a groundbreaking work that reimagines what the mystery novel can be. Epic in scope and told in the voices of five distinct narrators, it mixes high fantasy with the hard-boiled whodunit to produce the most devilish meal you’ll ever read.

The complete epic conundrum will be released in two volumes later this year.




Capt. John Regent returns a paraplegic after months of captivity and torture—only no one knows who took him or how he escaped.

Xana Jace strives only to be reunited with her son. She keeps her head down and stays out of trouble, which isn't easy when you stand seven feet eight inches tall.

Ian Tendo's sensible life has fallen apart. After losing his girlfriend and being arrested for terrorism, he doesn't imagine things could get any worse—until he's beset by an eleven-year-old prodigy with a foul mouth and an ambulance full of high explosives.

One by one, all four are recruited by an enigmatic mastermind, known only as Prophet, who offers them everything they want in exchange for the impossible.

But team is a four-letter word.

After a botched mission reveals a plot to hack the human race, the four unlikely companions discover a betrayal by one of their own—and realize that not all of them will survive.


THE MINUS FACTION is a super-powered speculative thriller about extraordinary abilities and how not to use them. Collected here for the first time in its entirety, this special omnibus edition includes all seven episodes as well as bonus material not previously available. 


The original seven episodes are also available for purchase.

Episode One: BREAKOUT

Beaten. Burned. Broken.

Capt. John Regent returns a paraplegic after escaping months of captivity and torture -- except no one knows who took him or what he disclosed.

When a government agent comes for answers, she discovers John's fantastical secret and sets him at war with his own country. But the veteran in the wheelchair has one last mission, and he'll fight off the powers-that-be long enough to save the life of a troubled soldier -- even if it costs John his own.


Episode Three: MELTDOWN

After losing his girlfriend and his job, Ian Tendo's sensible life has fallen apart. When he's arrested by the FBI, he doesn't imagine things could get any worse.

That is, until dark forces recruit him to be an agent of terror. Forced to commit horrible acts in secret, Ian knows death is close -- either at their hand or his own.

But unexpected help comes in the form of an eleven-year-old prodigy. Wanted by the police and pursued by a living nightmare, the pair's only hope is a mysterious organization known as the Minus Faction.


Episode Six: SHOCKWAVE

Lost in the aftermath of betrayal, the members of the team wander alone through the ruins of their lives, searching in vain for hope. In their absence, a new enemy rises to eclipse all others.

Isolated and absent the Prophet's prescient protection, John and company fall one-by-one to their new foe as the countdown ticks to its end.


Episode Two: CROSSFIRE

Xana Jace keeps her head down, which isn't easy when you stand seven feet eight inches tall. She works the night shift and stays out of trouble, striving only to be reunited with her son.

But she's running out of time. The strange disease that compels her body to grow also threatens to choke her heart.

When a masked gangster terrorizes the small community that shelters her, Xana is left with a terrible choice and just twenty-four hours to discover the truth that everything she believes is a lie.


Episode Four: BLACKOUT

The gang's all here. After an early success bolsters the team's confidence, they scatter to their own ends over John's heated objections.

But when a botched mission leaves a city of millions without power, they struggle to protect the people they've put in harm's way, while under cover of darkness, their enemies strike a killer blow . . .


Episode Five: AFTERSHOCK

Team is a four-letter word.

While the wounded heal and attempt to evade capture, the Faction's mission is finally revealed and John obsesses over the identity of the Prophet.

But when his investigation uncovers a betrayal, the team must face the devastating truth of their origin, and everything they've accomplished falls apart.


Episode Seven: OUTBREAK

The dead rise. Monsters clash. Enemies become allies. A king unleashes final Armageddon. And four unlikely friends decide the fate of the world.

T-Minus: Zero.




"Simultaneously riveting and horrifying."

“Its everyday setting disguises & magnifies the shocks. Read in daylight if you hope to sleep at all.”

After her husband dies in a car accident, Marjorie Little feels abandoned. Stuck in the remote town where he grew up, she remains a stranger to those around her and wants nothing to do with the townspeople's odd occult rituals.

But when her daughter is attacked—marked with three scratches—Marjorie must face her own shortcomings and the possibility of a real and ancient evil.

"Scratch" is a Hallow E'en Carol about the bad things good people do.